## WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

**REGULAR SESSION, 1959** 

## ENROLLED

HOUSE BILL No. 24

(By Mr. Myles " Mr. Firager)

PASSED Feb. 4 1959

In Effect 90 days from Passage

Filed in Office of the Secretary of State of West Virginia

JOE F. BURDETT

SECRETARY OF STATE

## **ENROLLED**

## House Bill No. 24

(By Mr. Myles and Mr. Frazer)

[Passed February 4, 1959; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections one and one-l, article two, chapter fifty-one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, and to further amend said article two by adding thereto a new section, to be designated section one-bb, all relating to establishment of judicial circuits and terms of court therein.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That sections one, one-l, article two, chapter fifty-one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, be amended and reenacted, and that said article two be further amended by adding thereto a new section, to be designated section one-bb, all to read as follows.

Section 1. Judicial Circuits; Judges; Terms of Court.—

2 The state shall be divided into judicial circuits as follows:

The couties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall constitute

- 4 the first circuit; the counties of Marshall, Tyler and
  5 Wetzel shall constitute the second circuit; the counties of
  6 Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie shall constitute the
  7 third circuit; the counties of Wood and Wirt shall con8 stitute the fourth circuit; the counties of Calhoun, Jack9 son, Mason and Roane shall constitute the fifth circuit;
  10 the counties of Cabell and Putnam shall constitute the
  11 sixth circuit; the county of Logan shall constitute the
  12 seventh circuit; the county of McDowell shall constitute
  13 the eighth circuit; the county of Mercer shall constitute
  14 the ninth circuit; the county of Raleigh shall constitute
  15 the tenth circuit; the counties of Greenbrier, Monroe,
  16 Pocahontas and Summers shall constitute the eleventh
  17 circuit; the county of Fayette shall constitute the twelfth
- thirteenth circuit; the counties of Braxton, Clay, Gilmer and Webster shall constitute the fourteenth circuit; the county of Harrison shall constitute the fifteenth circuit;

circuit; the county of Kanawha shall constitute the

- 22 the county of Marion shall constitute the sixteenth cir-
- 23 cuit; the county of Monongalia shall constitute the seven-

- 24 teenth circuit; the county of Preston shall constitute the eighteenth circuit; the counties of Barbour and Taylor 25 shall constitute the nineteenth circuit; the county of Ran-26 27 dolph shall constitute the twentieth circuit; the counties 28 of Grant Mineral and Tucker shall constitute the twenty-29 first circuit; the counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pen-30 dleton shall constitute the twenty-second circuit; the coun-31 ties of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan shall constitute 32 the twenty-third circuit; the counties of Mingo and Wayne 33 shall constitute the twenty-fourth circuit; the counties of 34 Lincoln and Boone shall constitute the twenty-fifth circuit; the counties of Lewis and Upshur shall constitute 35 36 the twenty-sixth circuit; the county of Wyoming shall 37 constitute the twenty-seventh circuit; the county of Nicholas shall constitute the twenty-eighth circuit. 38 There shall be elected on the Tuesday next after the 39 40 first Monday in November, one thousand nine hundred
- 43 first circuit there shall be two judges elected.

41

42

44 The terms of the several circuit judges of the counties

fifty-two, and every eighth year thereafter, one judge

in each of the circuits herein constituted, except for the

- 45 aforesaid shall commence and be held each year as here-
- 46 inafter provided.
  - Sec. 1-1. Twelfth Circuit.—For the county of Fayette,
  - 2 on the first Tuesday in January, April and July, and the
  - 3 third Tuesday in September.
    - Sec. 1-bb. Twenty-Eighth Circuit.—For the county of
  - 2 Nicholas, on the third Tuesday in February, May, August
  - 3 and November.

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.

Chairman Senate Committee

Endorn Andrews

Chairman House Committee

Originated in the House of Delegates.

Takes effect 40 days Juan passage.
Isome Regge
Clerk of the Senate
C. a. Blankenshiss
Clerk of the House of Delegates
Ralph Bean
President of the Senate
H. V. Jauley
Speaker House of Delegates

The within approved this the //h
day of felling for fine for the first the formula for the felling for felling for the felling for felling for the felling for